The Topeka RoadRunners held their year-end banquet Wednesday night at the Ramada Inn. Players, coaches, staff and fans were all in attendance for a delicious dinner and awards ceremony. 

The seasons premature conclusion notwithstanding, this was a night to celebrate the numerous accomplishments of the most successful season in RoadRunners history. A record number of wins (44), points (93), goals (254), and power play goals (81) were just the tip of the iceberg. The RoadRunners set new records for attendance, including the NAHL best ever crowd of 7,777 on March 25\’s \”Google Night\”. A record number of season tickets were purchased, and corporate support hit an franchise high as well. The RoadRunners excelled in all areas, both on and off the ice. 

The following awards were presented during the ceremony, with play-by-play broadcaster Arch Ecker serving as Master of Ceremonies. 


Most Improved Award: Chris Bond. 

John Stoddard \”Heart\” Award:  Kurtis Anton / Martin Sundstedt

Hard Hat Award: Michael Hill

Defensive Player of the Year: Kevin Ryan

Offensive Player of the Year: Erik Higby

Rookie Of The Year:  Bryce Johnson

Most Valuable Player: Erik Higby 

 The first of three tryout camps for the RoadRunners 2010-11 season is in Dallas in May. The staff is already preparing for next season, as Topeka will be the host for the 2011 Robertson Cup Tournament. Check the teams official website often for updates throughout the summer.